2017 Adrian Athletics Hall of Fame Profile: Original @acbulldoghockey Squad Debuted in 2007-08

The 2007-08 Adrian College men's hockey team. (Photo: Bulldog SID archives)
The 2007-08 Adrian College men's hockey team. (Photo: Bulldog SID archives)

ADRIAN, Mich.--The 2007-08 NCAA men's hockey team and five individuals across various sports comprise the 49th class of the Adrian College Athletics Hall of Fame, presented by the Bulldogs Athletic Department and Office of Alumni Relations. They will be inducted in a dinner ceremony on Friday (6 p.m.) in the Tobias Center of Ritchie Hall as part of Homecoming Weekend festivities on-campus.

The first Bulldogs squad set the tone for the gold standard of excellence that the College has been known for in the sport of ice hockey. Led by the program's founder Ron Fogarty who now coaches Division I Princeton of ECAC Hockey, upstart Adrian finished with a 26-3 record versus established programs, swept the Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season (19-1) and tournament titles, set four NCAA Division III records, and was the national statistical champion in goals scored (220), scoring offense (7.59 gpg), scoring margin (+5.34 gpg) and power play percentage (.340).

Individually, Adrian student-athletes led the nation in several categories led by MCHA Player of the Year and ACHA/CCM Second Team All-America forward Adam Krug (the Bulldogs' current head coach). Krug himself led all of NCAA hockey with 77 points on 30 goals and a nation-leading 47 assists. Additionally, Eric Miller topped Division III with 1.43 goals per game as a freshman; Miller tied for the power-play goals lead with 13; freshman Shawn Skelly posted seven game-winning goals; classmate Quinn Waller piled up 46 points (7g-39a) to top all defensemen; Skelly was the nation's top-scoring rookie with 74 points (30g-44a); and freshman Brad Fogal led all netminders with a .909 winning percentage (20-2). (Skelly is in his first season as assistant coach on Krug's staff.)

Several of those numbers still stand at the top of Bulldog annals today and rank among the best in NCAA and conference history.

The inaugural AC hockey team produced six All-MCHA selections in Krug, Miller, Skelly, freshman defenseman Chris Stansik, fellow blueliner Waller, and Fogal in goal.

Adrian christened the cozy Arrington Ice Arena with a 9-1 thumping of Potsdam State –  an NCAA program in existence since 1976 –  on Oct. 19 in its team debut. The Bulldogs were 14-1 and outscored opponents 130 to 27 on home ice during the 2007-08 season.   

Since then, the Bulldogs have been nearly unbeatable in their "barn", going 125-19-7 for an .851 winning percentage while outscoring their opponents. Adrian has led the nation in attendance based on capacity-percentage eight times according U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO.com), including the first team in 2007-08 with a USCHO.com-record 166.8.

The Hall was established in 1969 to recognize former athletes and coaches who have distinguished themselves in the field of intercollegiate athletics at Adrian College either by their performance on athletic teams during their undergraduate years, by their strong leadership in their profession, or their meritorious efforts on behalf of the athletic program at the College.

#AdrianBulldogs #GoDawgs #GDTBAB #BulldogProud