Berger on Team USA Coaching Staff; Three Bulldogs Selected to Play in 2017 World University Games

Berger on Team USA Coaching Staff; Three Bulldogs Selected to Play in 2017 World University Games

Team USA WWUG Information

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--Three Adrian College student-athletes from the Bulldogs' American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) Division I women's program and head coach Brett Berger have been selected to represent the U.S. National University Team for the World University Games.

USA Hockey recently announced the complete ACHA roster for the Games that are taking place Jan. 28 – Feb. 6 in Almaty, Kazakhstan. The 21-player team heading to the Games was picked from an initial roster of 28 following an evaluation camp, held in Woodridge, Ill., and Wentzville, Mo., from Dec. 28-30. Camp included exhibitions against the Chicago Mission Under-19 team featuring 16 NCAA Division I commitments (L, 9-1) and Lindenwood University's NCAA D-I program (L, 3-0).

The U.S. National University team will be coached by Shelley Looney, a 1998 Olympic gold medalist. Her assistant coaches include Scott Hicks (Miami University of Ohio) and Berger, who has piloted the Bulldogs to a current No. 2 ACHA national ranking and 15-2 overall record through the Ohio State series--sweeping the Buckeyes, 6-0 and 6-0.

The Bulldogs trio--which is second-most from one school on Team USA--is forwards Brittany Levasseur, Jessie Rushing and defenseman Sabrena Camp. Levasseur, a freshman out of Pepperell, Mass. (Lawrence Academy [Groton, Mass.]), tops Adrian with 10 goals and has a third-team-leading 17 points. A graduate student from Hernando, Miss. (St. Louis Jr. Blues), Rushing has grabbed 10 points on two goals and eight assists. Camp (Rochester Hills, Mich./Compuware AAA), who is a junior, has registered three assists.

The USA roster includes players from all over the ACHA, with 11 representing the Central Collegiate Women's Hockey Association, seven players representing the Western Women's Collegiate Hockey League, and three players from the Eastern Collegiate Women's Hockey League. Nine different schools will also be represented including Colorado University, Adrian College, Grand Valley State University, University of Massachusetts, Miami University of Ohio, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, Penn State University, and Lindenwood-Belleville University.

Following a Wednesday, Jan. 25 departure, Team USA will open up play in Group B against Russia, the tournament's defending gold medal winners, at 1:30 a.m. Eastern on Saturday, Jan. 28. The following game will come against Japan, which won bronze in 2015, on Tuesday, Jan. 31, at 9 a.m. Eastern. Games beyond that are to be determined. LiveSport will stream the tournament and the link is here, including webcast schedule.

#AdrianBulldogs #GDTBAB #GoDawgs #Arrington10thSeasonAnniversary

(Editor's note: Photo courtesy of Chris Wrbelis.)